It occurred to me this evening that a good majority of those in my generation went through a punk phase at one point in their youth. For some reason the old Epitaph compilations “Punk-O-Rama” popped into my head, and one of my favorite Rancid songs of all time, “Side Kick” off the second volume.

There was a domino effect and suddenly felt the desire to pick up some artists that have long been missing from my library. Dropkick Murphys, Descendents, Millencolin, The Unseen, Lars Frederickson and the Bastards, Pennywise, The Bouncing Souls, Descendents and hell… even some Alkaline Trio even though I know it doesn’t quite count.

Songs of energy, rebellion and generally giving the finger to the Man. Basically everything being a teenager is all about. Brought it up on Facebook and sure enough, recommendations came in from almost every corner of my friend spectrum.

The question now is: What the f*** are today’s teenagers listening to?

Mp3: Rancid – “Side Kick”

Mp3: Millencolin – “No Cigar”

